h1

A Multimedia Extravaganza

April 28, 2009

multimedia

I’ve been meaning for awhile now to do a post where I can collect all the little Warcrafty videos and whatnot that are completely awesome and can be relinked to easily. This is, and will be, eternally under construction though. I’ve already gone on into Wednesday missing a Tuesday post for the first time just populating this thing. More to come soon, some of these links will die. If you’re talkative and want to add something or notice something is broken, please comment or contact me and I’ll keep at it!

Machinima Videos

Craft of War: BLIND

This has been listed on many another blog and site, but it really deserves to be here because the animation is truly a wonder to see. If you’re not much familiar with Warcraft videos I suggest you DON’T watch this first, because it’ll spoil everything for you and everything will look like crap in comparison. The quality is higher than YouTube, the music isn’t what I’d pick but that’s the producer’s choice, and there are a couple Matrix-style flying martial arts parts of the battle but really, it’s great. I think my favorite parts are the shadow with the lantern at the beginning and the subtle way the elf’s eyebrow is animated in her expression just before she runs away.

Oxhorn’s Page

Oxhorn has recently gotten a little… erm, vocal about his religious and political affiliations, but just about everything from The Great Kodo and the Tauren’s Kilt up to the Medley video is absolutely wonderful. You’ll want to avoid Orcs in Space unless you’re a bit slaphappy, and you’ll need to watch everything else before the Medley, but it’s good stuff. If you’re Horde (or possibly even if you play for the blue team) you’ll probably end up walking around doing housework singing the Anti-Elf Anthem.

Myndflame

I first found Myndflame in the first Blizzard-Xfire Machinima contest with their entry Illegal Danish. This is an awesome, classic piece of work with an all-original soundtrack. I didn’t like their first movie, Zinwrath, quite as much but Illegal Danish and it’s sequel are pure quotable awesomeness. Even better, all-original music that gets stuck in your head like MC Raiders and L2Play.

Dungeons and Dragons

A spoof of a different audio track, hilarious. You just don’t know what kind of evil kids may get themselves into until they’re screaming for Mountain Dew from the kitchen…

Music! With and Without Video

SirenSong

The author (Writer? Composer? Producer?) of Hootie’s Ballad also did three song rewrites posted to YouTube. Awesome gal. Fallin’ (In Lava), Blacklisted, and Don’t Know Why are the extras.

Big Blue Dress

This is made of win, especially for us old timers who remember a time before Outland. A time when epics weren’t replaced with greens unless the epic was from level 25.  A time when everyone ended up wearing the same gear as everyone else in their class… er, wait. That still happens. Enjoy!

Ulduar

Summergale and Cranius got together to put this out right around the time of patch 3.1 which introduced Ulduar. It’s a back and forth Romeo vs. Juliet of PvE and PvP. I highly recommend going into HD mode for this one.

I Played a Hunter

A rewrite of “I Kissed a Girl”. <3 Props to Doodle of the now dead Hots and Dots blog for doing the original writeup on the lyrics!

/dance

An Xfire finalist. Origianl song for the contest written and performed by the person who made the vid. ^^

Billy Maclure

Yet another Xfire finalist, those contests just spawned so much good stuff… This is a rewrite of “Bille Jean” and well done.

The Ballad of the Noob

Can ya guess where this came from? Yep. Xfire. I told you, great contest! Great story here. May not be possible, but if it were it’d be awesome.

That’s the World of Warcraft That You Play!

A rewrite of Wierd Al’s “That’s your Horroscope for Today”. Been around for awhile now, voice is a little flat, but the concept is good and rather amusing.

The Hardware Store

As long as we’re on Wierd Al, this isn’t a rewrite, but it’s awesome. Enjoy.

I Can Be Your Healer, Baby.

An ode to the priest class with an acoustic guitar. A rewrite of Enrique Iglesias’ “I Can Be Your Hero”, of course. To be honest, I can barely even remember what the original song was now because this is all that pops into my head…

Everytime I WoW

A rewrite of “Everytime we Touch”. I think. I actually don’t know the origianl song, there’s just some lines in this one that get stuck in my head. This is apparently the “slow” version of the song although the singer wishes to find a copy of the “fast/dance” version instead. Low quality mic on the voice, but hey, it’s got character!

Nyhm

Ah, Nyhm. Not my first taste in music, but he does a LOT and it’s actually decent quality. I say this with hesitation because my musical tastes REALLY don’t run in this direction. At all. But there are a couple I like; Ni Hau and Hard Like Heroic (Don’t judge me! It’s catchy, damnit!). If your taste in music runs more along these line than mine, enjoy!

WoWLogic

Another Xfire finalist, and another rewite of a song (Technologic). This is what we do.

Sound Clips

Inadra, Shaman of the Earthen Ring

This link is currently broken, so far as I can tell. A download location (here) was also given, but I can’t get it to work. This was a wonderful bit of Rp and I put it here in the hopes it will come back. It had both myself and Etsugal actually intears listening to it, but still leaves off on a tentative hopeful note.

Not Specifically WoW, but deserves “Honorable Mention”

We Didn’t Start the Flame War

By CollegeHumor. A song rewrite with video. Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

